Talking photos: Percify vs HeyGen

Both turn a photo into a lip synced video. What differs is whether you can price a clip before you make it, what the free plan leaves on it, and who owns the result.

Make a talking photo

The short answer

If you know how long your clip needs to be, Percify is the one you can cost in advance: a talking photo is 2 credits a second, so 15 seconds is 30 credits and a minute is 120, at about 2 cents a credit. HeyGen also bills in credits, but its pricing page states that credit use varies by model, duration and complexity and publishes no per-second rate, so the price of a specific clip is not something you can work out before making it.

If instead you want to see the most output before paying anything, HeyGen's free plan is the larger one. It lists three videos a month of up to a minute each; a new Percify account gets 10 credits, which is a five second talking photo.

Side by side

PercifyHeyGen
Price of a talking photo2 credits a second (InfiniteTalk Fast); 4 at 480p or 6 at 720p on the higher quality modelCredits, with no published per-second rate; their page says credit use varies by model, duration and complexity
Entry paid planCreator, $26 a month, 1,233 credits, about 10 minutes of talking photo on the fast modelCreator, $29 a month ($24 billed annually, per their FAQ), 600 credits
Next plans upScale $65 (3,000 credits), Ultra $128 (8,000)Pro $49 (1,000 credits), Business $149 plus $20 a seat (1,500), Enterprise on request
Free plan10 credits, a 5 second clip, no watermark3 videos a month up to 1 minute, up to 3 photo avatars, 1 voice clone
WatermarkNone on any plan, including free; no upgrade removes one because none is added"Watermark removal" is listed as a Creator and Pro feature
Video length limitNo plan cap; length is what you spend credits on1 minute on Free, 30 on Creator and Pro, 60 on Business, no maximum on Enterprise
Commercial useYou own what you generate under our terms, on every plan including free; not exclusiveTheir pricing page does not state the free plan's commercial terms
Own voiceRecord, upload, or save a voice and type new scripts; free sample checker firstVoice cloning offered; free plan lists 1 voice clone
Failed runsRefundedNot stated on the pricing page

HeyGen's figures were read from heygen.com/pricing on 10 October 2026; Percify's from our own live pricing the same day. Where their page says nothing, this table says so rather than guessing. Prices change on both sides, so check both before relying on a number here. Percify is our product.

Where HeyGen is the better pick

  • You want to try the most video before paying: three one minute clips a month beats our five free seconds.
  • You need a single video longer than your credit budget allows, and a 30 or 60 minute per video ceiling suits you better than paying per second.
  • You want preset stock presenters and a wider avatar product around the talking photo, rather than a per second generator.

What a clip actually costs here

ClipCredits (fast model)Roughly
10 seconds2035 to 50 cents
15 seconds3055 to 75 cents
30 seconds60$1.10 to $1.50
60 seconds120$2 to $3

Credits are about 2 cents each depending on the plan; the $5 pack is 200 credits and plan credits are on the pricing page. A failed run is refunded, so a retry is not a second charge.

Same photo, same job

Output from InfiniteTalk Fast, the model behind Percify's talking photos: one still portrait and one audio track in, an MP4 out. Press play for sound.

How to make one here

Upload a sharp, front facing head and shoulders photo of one person, add the voice (record it, upload audio, or pick a voice and type the script), and generate. The talking photo page has a free checker that tests the photo's size, angle, light and focus in your browser before you spend anything, and the script length calculator turns a script into seconds so you can price the clip from the table above.

If you want the picture itself to move rather than speak, that is a different family of models: image to video. If you are weighing more than these two tools, the wider table is on best AI avatar generator and the lip sync specific one on lip sync apps compared.

Price it, then make it

2 credits a second, no watermark on any plan, failed runs refunded, and you own the result.

Make a talking photo

Frequently asked questions

Everything you need to know before you start.

For a known clip length, Percify is the one you can price in advance. A talking photo is 2 credits a second on InfiniteTalk Fast, so a 15 second clip is 30 credits and a minute is 120, and credits work out at about 2 cents each, so a minute is roughly $2 to $3. HeyGen prices in credits too, but states that credit use varies by model, duration and complexity and publishes no credit-per-second rate, so the cost of a specific clip is not knowable from their pricing page. Compare the plans you would actually buy: Percify Creator is $26 a month for 1,233 credits, which is about 10 minutes of talking photo on the fast model; HeyGen Creator is $29 a month for 600 credits.

HeyGen lists "Watermark removal" as a feature of its Creator and Pro plans, which is how their pricing page presents it; the page does not state in words what the free plan does. Percify adds no watermark on any plan, including the free one, and there is no paid upgrade to remove one because there is nothing to remove.

More free video than we do, and this is the clearest point in their favour: HeyGen’s free plan lists 3 videos a month up to 1 minute each, up to 3 photo avatars and 1 voice clone. A new Percify account gets 10 credits, which is a 5 second talking photo at 2 credits a second. If your goal is to see the most output before paying anything, start with theirs. If your goal is a clip you can actually publish, ours comes out clean and yours to use.

Percify’s terms say you own the AI generated content you create, on every plan including the free one, subject to those terms; output is not exclusive, and you need the rights to the photo and the voice. HeyGen’s pricing page does not state its free plan’s commercial terms, so read their own terms before publishing anything made on it rather than taking a comparison’s word for it, including ours.

On Percify the length is what you pay for rather than a plan limit: 2 credits a second on the fast model, so the ceiling is your credit balance. HeyGen caps video length by plan: 1 minute on Free, 30 minutes on Creator and Pro, 60 on Business, and no maximum on Enterprise.

Yes, both offer voice cloning. HeyGen’s free plan lists 1 voice clone. On Percify you record or upload a voice, or save it and type new scripts for it, and the free voice sample checker tells you whether a recording is clean enough before you spend credits.

Percify is our product, so weigh this accordingly and check both pricing pages yourself. The honest split: HeyGen has the larger free allowance, longer per-video caps on its higher plans and a wider product around avatars; Percify has a published per-second price so you can cost a clip before making it, no watermark on any plan, ownership of the output on the free plan, refunds on failed runs, and a cheaper entry plan at $26. If you need to know what a 20 second clip costs before you make it, that is the difference that matters.

HeyGen’s figures were read from heygen.com/pricing on 10 October 2026 and Percify’s from our own live pricing and credit tables the same day. Prices change, so check both pages before relying on a figure here.